Michigan State upset preserves record of unbeaten titles
Michigan State Share

Michigan State upset preserves record of unbeaten titles

Spartans of 1965 and 1966 remain last Big Ten team with with back-to-back unbeaten and untied titles

Photo: Michigan State's 1965 defensive unit (L-R, bottom row): Bob Viney, Don Bierwicz, Harold Lucas, Buddy Owens and Bubba Smith. (L-R, top row): Don Japinga, Charlie Thornhill, Jess Phillips, Ron Goovert, George Webster and Jim Summers.

Michigan State’s upset of Ohio State last week preserved more than a shot at this year’s Big Ten title and College Football Playoff.

The 1965-66 Spartans still alone hold the conference record of back-to-back unbeaten and untied Big Ten titles that they established a half-century ago. Ohio State was in position to match the 1965-66 Spartans prior to Saturday’s game. Ohio State was two Big Ten wins from adding an 8-0 record in 2015 to the 8-0 mark the Buckeyes posted in 2014 en route to their conference and national titles. But the Spartans stopped the streak with a 17-14 win in the rain at Ohio Stadium. ... 

Click here for the rest of my Today's U story

Tom Shanahan

Tom Shanahan

Tom Shanahan is an award-winning sportswriter and the author of "Raye of Light". Tom has also written for the San Diego Union-Tribune, Voice of San Diego, Chargers.com, Rivals.com, and Gameday Central. He has won multiple first-place awards from the San Diego Press Club and first place from the Copley News Service Ring of Truth Awards. The National Football Foundation/San Diego Chapter presented him its Distinguished American Award in 2003 and USA Track and Field’s San Diego Chapter its President’s Award in 2000.

Raye of Light: Jimmy Raye, Duffy Daugherty, the integration of college football and the 1965-66 Michigan State Spartans

By Tom Shanahan; Foreword by Tony Dungy; August Publications

Purchase Raye of Light from Barnes and Noble, Amazon.com or from August Publishing.

Media interviews  | Amazon customer reviews