Air Force wins Commander in Chief Trophy
AFAN Share

Air Force wins Commander in Chief Trophy

AFAN: Air Force, Army Navy newsletter on Air Force's win over Army

Photo: Air Force QB Arion Worthman

Air Force third-year starting seniors Weston Steelhammer, Jacobi Owens, Shayne Davern, Jalen Robinette and Colin Sander will fly home to Colorado Springs knowing they’ll return east for another important football visit in the spring.

The Falcons (6-3) will visit the White House as a result of their 31-12 victory over Army (5-4) Saturday at West Point to claim the Commander-in-Chief’s Trophy. The CIC Trophy earns a White House ceremony with the President for the winning team’s seniors. ... 

Click here for the rest of my Today's U story

Tom Shanahan

Tom Shanahan

Tom Shanahan is an award-winning sportswriter and the author of "Raye of Light". Tom has also written for the San Diego Union-Tribune, Voice of San Diego,,, and Gameday Central. He has won multiple first-place awards from the San Diego Press Club and first place from the Copley News Service Ring of Truth Awards. The National Football Foundation/San Diego Chapter presented him its Distinguished American Award in 2003 and USA Track and Field’s San Diego Chapter its President’s Award in 2000.

Raye of Light: Jimmy Raye, Duffy Daugherty, the integration of college football and the 1965-66 Michigan State Spartans

By Tom Shanahan; Foreword by Tony Dungy; August Publications

Purchase Raye of Light from Barnes and Noble, or from August Publishing.

Media interviews  | Amazon customer reviews